RSUST CUT OFF MARK 2020/ 2021 (Departmental cut off point for all courses)

RSUST CUT OFF MARK 2020/ 2021 (Departmental cut off point for all courses)

If you chose Rivers State University and scored 180 and above in the UTME you are qualified for the PUTME screening exercise. We’ve got you covered on what you should know before the screening and what to do when admitted. Feel free to tap from our research and valid information 


The Rivers State University of Science and Technology currently known as Rivers State University, doubles as both the first technological university in Nigeria and the first university to be established within the Niger Delta region. It was established in 1972 as the College of Science and Technology in the Mile 3, Diobu area of Port Harcourt, Rivers State, Nigeria. It was renamed from College of Science and Technology to Rivers State University of Science and Technology in 1980 after securing the right to a university status and from Rivers State University of Science and Technology to Rivers State University in 2017. It is believed to be the only university in Nigeria that is accredited to offer degree programs in Marine Engineering among other universities.

Six years ago, In 2014 to be precise it was rated as Nigeria’s best E-learning institution and was ranked as the 15th best university in the country. She currently occupies the 13th position in the country and has a student capacity within the region of 23,000

She has the following faculties and currently offers the following courses; 


Faculty of Sciences 

  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Biochemistry
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Biochemistry
  • Department of Animal and Environmental Biology
  • Department of Microbiology
  • Department of Plant Science and Biotechnology
  • Department of Medical Laboratory Science
  • Department of Geology

Faculty of Engineering 

  • Department of Civil
    • Highway Engineering
    • Structural Engineering
    • Hydraulics
  • Department of Marine Engineering
  • Department of Petroleum Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Department of Electrical Engineering
  • Department of Chemical/petrochemical Engineering
  • Department of Agricultural And Environmental Engineering

Faculty of Law

  • Department of Business Law
  • Department of International Law
  • Department of Public Law
  • Department of Private and Property Law
  • Department of Independent Law and Crime Law

Faculty of Management Sciences

  • Department of Office And Information Management
  • Department of Marketing
  • Department of Management
  • Department of Banking And Finance
  • Department of Accountancy

Faculty of Environmental Sciences 

  • Department of Land Survey
  • Department of Estate Management
  • Department of Quantity Surveying
  • Department of Architecture
  • Department of Urban And Regional Planning

Faculty of Agriculture 

  • Department of Forestry and Environment
  • Department of Agric and Applied Economics
  • Department of Agric Extension and Rural Development
  • Department of Animal Science
  • Department of Crop/Soil Science
  • Department of Fisheries and Aquatic Environment
  • Department of Food Science and Technology
  • Department of Forestry and Environment
  • Department of Home Science and Management

Faculty of Education 

  • Department of Adult Education
  • Department of Vocational and Technical Education
  • Department of Education Management
  • Department of Education Foundation
  • Department of Business Education
  • Department of Science Education

Faculty of Humanities 

  • Department of English and Literature
  • Department of History and International Relations
  • Department of Theatre Arts
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Religious Studies

Faculty of Social Sciences 

  • Department of Mass Communication
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Psychology
  • Department of Geography
  • Department of Economics

Among others, the institution has quite a good number of reputable and respected alumni some of whom are ;

  • Judith Amaechi , former First Lady of Rivers State 
  • Goodluck Nanah Opiah, Politician and former member House of Reps.
  • Tonto Dikeh, Actress
  • Nyesom Ezebunwo Wike, Incumbent Governor of Rivers State 
  • Austin Opara, former Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives of Nigeria
  • Magnus Nge Abe, Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria
  • Mrs Eberechi Wike, Judge of the Rivers State High Court of Justice

Her incumbent Vice Chancellor is Prof. Opuenebo B. Owei (Acting).


  • The candidate must score a minimum of 180  JAMB points 
  • Five O’ level credit passes including Mathematics and English and three other course relevant subjects
  • Candidates must have the right subject combinations in UTME
  • Candidates can apply with awaiting results. Awaiting results however won’t be accepted once admission is given .
  • RSUSTmust either be your first or second choice University, candidates whose first choice is RSUSTstands a better chance of being admitted first before others
  • Candidates must also fulfill other faculty/departmental requirements 


The minimum jamb approved score that qualifies any candidate to sit for the PUTME screening exercise is 180. With a score of 180 and above candidates can apply for the PUTME screening, it is however advisable to score higher than the cut off mark to avoid stiff competition.


Education and Science180
Education and Biology180
Adult and Community Education180
Urban and Regional Planning180
Technical Education180
Agricultural and Environmental Engineering180
Agricultural Economics and Extension180
Soil Science180
Quantity Surveying180
Agricultural Economics and Farm Management180
Petroleum Engineering200
Agricultural Science and Education180
Personnel management180
Office and Information Management180
Animal Science180
Applied Biology180
Mechanical Engineering200
Banking and Finance 180
Mass Communication200
Marine Engineering200
Biological Sciences180
Business Education180
Land Survey180
Chemical/Petrochemical Engineering200
Home Science  and Management180
Forestry/Forest Resources Management180
Food Science and Technology180
Fisheries management180
Estate management180
Electrical Engineering200
Civil engineering200
Computer Engineering180
Computer Science190
Crop Science180
Medicine and Surgery240
Pharmacy 200
English Language190
Agricultural and Biosystem Engineering180


Successful candidates who were offered Provincial Admission and have accepted the offer of admission into Year One (1) and Direct Entry are to go to the Information Technology Centre (ITC) of the University or any other location as will be communicated by the University with their credentials for the Clearance Exercise as follows:


1. Admission Letter from Jamb

2. Original Jamb Result

2. Accepted Admission Status from Jamb (Caps)

3. Original O’level Certificates

4. Birth Certificate

5. LGA Identification Letter

6. Acceptance Fee Receipt

7. Other Print out from the Student’s RSU Portal

Note: The University Authority wishes to emphasize that any candidate who fails to clear his/her admission before the expiration of the deadline will lose the admission.

Please if you find this article helpful do well to introduce others to the page , share the link on all available social network platforms ( Facebook, WhatsApp, Twitter, etc ) to help inform others . Comments and questions are also permitted for clarity purpose.

Leave a Comment