AHMADU BELLO UNIVERSITY (ABU) CUT OF MARK 2020/2021 (Departmental cut off point for all courses)

AHMADU BELLO UNIVERSITY ( ABU ) CUT OF MARK 2020/2021 (Departmental cut off point for all courses)

For candidates who have chosen ABU Zaria as their first choice institution, this publication is specifically meant to guide you on your PUTME process and give insight to those whose status didn’t correspond with the basic university’s requirements for admission.

Brief history of Ahmadu Bello University (ABU)

Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), established on October 4, 1962, as the University of Northern Nigeria but renamed in honor after the Sardauna of Sokoto, Alhaji Sir Ahmadu Bello, the first Premier of Northern Nigeria is a government research institution situated in Zaria, Kaduna State. It is believed to be the largest university in sub-Saharan Africa and the second largest on the African continent after the University of Cairo in Egypt.

The university works with two campuses: Samaru and Kongo in Zaria, and School of Basic Studies in Funtua. The Samaru campus houses the managerial/administrative offices, faculties of physical, social and life sciences, education, arts and languages, engineering and research among others. The Kongo campus has the Faculties of Law and Administration. The Faculty of Administration comprises of Accounting, Business Administration, Local Government and Development Studies and Public Administration Departments. Furthermore, the university is liable for an assortment of different institutions and programs at different areas in addition to owning one of the largest Teaching Hospitals in Nigeria and Africa, ABU Teaching Hospital.

The university is currently the best in the country occupying the number one position. She runs a wide assortment of undergraduate, graduate, associate degrees and remedial programs which accounts for about 35,000 students from every part of the world. She has about 1,400 academic and research staff and 5,000 support staff and covers a land mass of 7,000 hectares having 13 academic faculties, a postgraduate school, 82 academic departments, five institutes, six specialized centers, a Division of Agricultural Colleges, demonstration secondary and primary schools, etc. The university’s 13 faculties are;


  1. Faculty of Administration
  2. Faculty of Agriculture
  3. Faculty of Arts
  4. Faculty of Education
  5. Faculty of Engineering
  6. Faculty of Environmental Design
  7. Faculty of Law
  8. Faculty of Life Science
  9. Faculty of Medicine
  10. Faculty of Pharmaceutical Science
  11. Faculty of Physical Science
  12. Faculty of Social Science
  13. Faculty of Veterinary Medicine

Famous, prominent and notable Nigerian leaders including former and current state governors, ministers, etc have traceable academic background to Ahmadu Bello University. Some of these alumni are:

  • Mohammed Bello Adoke, former Minister of Justice & Attorney General of the Federation
  • Ahmed Abdullah, OON, former Agriculture and Rural Development Minister
  • Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, GCON, former vice president, Federal Republic of Nigeria
  • Yayale Ahmed, former secretary to the Government of the Federation
  • Adamu Aliero, former governor, Kebbi State
  • Solomon Arase, former IGP, Nigeria Police Force
  • Mohammed Bawa, former Ekiti State governor
  • Yahaya Bello, Incumbent governor, Kogi state
  • Yahaya Abubakar Abdullahi, Senate Majority Leader of the Nigerian 9th National Assembly
  • Ibrahim Hassan Dankwambo, former governor, Gombe State
  • Donald Duke, former Cross River state governor
  • Prof. Jerry Gana, former information minister
  • Idris Legbo kutigi, former chief justice of Nigeria
  • Sanusi Lamido Sanusi, former governor Central Bank of Nigeria , former Emir of Kano
  • Dino Melaye , senator, Kogi West
  • Nasir Ahmed el-Rufai, Governor Kaduna State
  • Umaru Musa Yar’Adua, GCFR, former President of Nigeria.

From the inception of the institution, the affairs of the institution has been successfully piloted by by quite of good number of Vice Chancellors viz;


  1. Prof. Norman Alexander (1961-1966)
  2. Prof. Ishaya Audu (1966-1975)
  3. Prof. Iya Abubakar (1975-1978)
  4. Prof. Oladipo Akikugbe (1978–1979)
  5. Prof. Ango Abdullahi (1979-1986)
  6. Prof. Adamu N. Muhammad (1986-1991)
  7. Prof. Daniel Soror (1991-1995)
  8. Major-General Mamman Kontagora (Sole Administrator 1995-1998) 
  9. Prof. Abdullahi Mahadi (1999-2004)
  10. Prof. Shehu Usman Abdullahi (2004-2009)
  11. Prof. Jarlath Udoudo Umoh (2009)
  12. Prof. Aliyu Mohammed (2009-2010)
  13. Prof. Abdullahi Mustapha (2010-2015)
  14. Prof. Ibrahim Garba (2015-2020)
  15. Prof. Kabir Bala (2020-Date)


To gain admission into ABU Zaria, candidates must have to fulfill the following conditions; 

  • Candidates must score a minimum of 180 in JAMB and above 
  • Candidates must have five O’ level credits in either of WAEC, NECO, GCE or NABTEB inclusive of Mathematics and English Language and three other relevant subjects in not more than two sittings for other courses but one sitting for Medicine and Nursing.
  • Candidates must have the right UTME subject combinations 
  • Candidates must choose ABU as their most preferred institution 

Ahmadu Bello University Cut Off Mark 2020/2021

The Jamb approved cut off mark is 180, candidates with score 180 and above can apply to take part in the PUTME screening exercise. Candidates with scores lower than 180 should weigh if still available the option of a change of institution as they stand no chance of being admitted into the institution.


These are the various courses offered in ABUand their various cut off marks

3English language180
4Performing Arts180
5Arabic Studies180
6Physical and Health Education180
7Library and Information science180
8Home Economics and Education180
9Guidance and Counseling180
10Education and Social Studies180
11Education and Integrated Science180
13Computer Science190
14English Language190
18Mechanical Engineering190
19Production Engineering190
20Chemical Engineering190
21Petroleum Engineering190
22Civil Engineering190
23Structural Engineering190
24Electrical Engineering190
25Computer Engineering190
26Mass Communication200
31Education and Hausa180
32Education and Geography180
33Fine Arts180
34Education and Chemistry180
35Education and Biology180
37Education and Physics180
38Education and Mathematics180
40Education and Islamic Studies180
41Education and Computer Science180
42Business education180
43Education and Christian Religious Studies180
44Education and Arabic180
45Agricultural Science and Education180
46Medicine & Surgery 240
47Nursing 220
48Agricultural and Biosystem Engineering 180

More departments will be uploaded as soon as available.

Please if you find this article helpful do well to introduce others to the page , share the link on all available social network platforms ( Facebook, WhatsApp, Twitter, etc ) to help inform others . Comments and questions are also permitted for clarity purpose

Leave a Comment